Staff Directory
Contact Public Works

Members                        District
Layton Lowe                   Connell/Kahlotus Area District
Melinda Didier                 Eltopia Area District
Mike Vincent                   Columbia River West Area District
Claude Pierret                 Snake River Area District
Mike Corrales                  Basin City Area District
VACANT                          Riverview/West Pasco UGAB Area District
Brent Stenson                  Riverview/West Pasco UGAB Area District

The County Planning Commission typically holds regularly scheduled meetings/hearings on the 1st Tuesday of every month. The meetings/hearings are held in the Commissioners Meeting Room at the Franklin County Courthouse, 1016 N 4th Ave, Pasco, WA unless otherwise posted.     *Planning Commission Hearing - Procedures/Protocol/Etiquette*

Planning Commission Duties
The Planning Commission is a seven (7) member volunteer board that is appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Planning Commission appointments are four (4) year terms. The Planning Commission normally consists of a wide range of citizens from different sections (Planning Districts are designated on a map in the Planning Department) Click Here to View Planning District Map of the County who represent the general values of the community in land use decision making. The Planning Commission is not a "final" decision making committee but rather makes "recommendations" to the elected officials for the different applications they review. The various applications the Planning Commission will review includes: Conditional Use Permits, Variances, Rezones, Subdivisions, Shoreline Permits, Zoning and Subdivision Text/Map Amendments, and Comprehensive Plan Amendments.

As in most other Counties and Cities across the State of Washington, Franklin County has a professional planning staff which brings technical expertise and knowledge to the land use process and assists the Planning Commission members as they review plans and projects. Prior to each meeting, Staff will visit each agenda site and develop a Staff Report for the Planning Commission to review. This Report normally describes the project, the applicable law(s) and provides a list of comments from the County's Technical Agency's.

Vacancy Announcement
Franklin County is seeking letters of interest (applications) for one (1) vacancy on the Franklin County Planning Commission.

The vacancy is located in the Pasco Urban Growth Area. The boundary lines for this Planning District follow the City limit boundary for the City of Pasco. Generally, the area is located east of Road 100, south of I-182, west of Road 40 and north of Court Street (this is a very general description for the area known as the Doughnut Hole). This Planning District additionally encompasses urban growth area neighborhoods such as those near Overton Road, Dent Road, and Kohler Road in Franklin County.

People who live within the Unincorporated Area of Franklin County are encouraged to apply. For assistance in determining if you live within this area, please call the Planning Department at 545-3521.

The Franklin County Planning Commission is a seven (7) member, non-paid, voluntary board that typically meets once a month in the evenings. The Commission makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners on land development applications, ordinance/code updates, and other land use related issues.

A letter of interest and/or resume and application form is required to be submitted to the Franklin County Planning and Building Department, 502 W. Boeing, Pasco, WA 99301 (545-3521) no later than Friday, October 13, 2017 at 5:00 p.m.