Historical Courthouse Dome, Aerial View of the County


YOUTUBE LIVESTREAM - Commissioner Meeting

Meeting Agenda


07/02/2020 - Joint Benton-Franklin Media Release - Phase 1.5
06/26/2020 - Drive Thru Mask Pickup
06/19/2020 - BFHD Modified Reopening
06/12/2020 - COVID-19 Phase-2 Application Update
Updated 4/01 - Renewal and Extension of the Provisions of Res. 2020- 074 through April 21, 2020
Updated 3/24 - Franklin County COVID-19 Press Release - County operations during pandemic
Supreme Court Emergency Order re COVID-19 Press Release

The Board of County Commissioners is the governmental authority of the county.

Franklin County has three county commissioners who each serve four-year terms. The three commissioner districts are divided by population. The commissioners are partisan and are nominated in a primary election by only the voters in their particular district. In the general election, all the voters in the county are allowed to vote to determine who will be elected as a commissioner.

Serving on the Board of County Commissioners are:

Chairman: Robert E. Koch

Chairman Pro-Tem: Brad Peck

Member: Clint Didier

1016 N. 4th Avenue
Pasco, WA 99301-3706

PDF File icon2020 Commissioner Committee Assignments

The duties of county commissioners include:

1. Setting the amount of county taxes and authorizing payment of county bills. The Commissioners adopt a yearly budget.
2. Care of county public buildings and other county property.
3. County roads.
4. Defending all actions for and against the county.
5. Making laws for the county. In Franklin County, most laws are adopted by ordinance and are included in the Franklin County Code. Franklin County laws include: fire codes, boating regulations, burning regulations, business registration, development regulations, planning codes, building codes, plumbing codes, and electrical codes, Franklin County Right to Farm ordinance, litter control, noise control, sales and use taxes, solid waste laws, and speed limits on county roads.
6. Setting county policies.
7. Serving on other boards such as the Franklin County Disability Board, Benton-Franklin Health District, Ben Franklin Transit, Emergency Management Board, Columbia Basin Ground Water Management Area (GWMA) and Workforce Development Council.
8. The Commissioners are responsible for the administration of all non-elected departments in the county.